Schedule a Consultation:

(905) 615-1244

Latest Resources

A couple walked into my office, both complaining that they did not feel loved or appreciated by their partner.  When talking to each of them, it was clear to me that they each did care for the other, so why were they both feeling so unloved?  It's often the case that we  learn to expresour love in a particular way, and expect to receive love that

way too.  For example, a person may have grown up in a household where love was expressed verbally, and they feel loved when they are told so.  If they aren't affirmed verbally, they may end up feeling unloved.  Another person may have grown up in a home where love was expressed through physical affection, so they give and receive love that way, and without it, feel unloved.  So what happens when two people get together with two different love languages?  Unless they learn to “speak” each other's language, they may end up feeling unloved, even though their partner is doing everything they think the other person needs.  It may be the case that they are giving to their partner exactly what they, themselves want, but not what the other person wants to feel loved!

In his book, The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman, Chapman outlines five different ways a person may give and receive love.  Learning your own and your partner's language can help you improve your relationship.  Once you know what your language is, you can communicate that to your partner to help them know what to do to make you feel loved.  Once you know your partner's language, you'll know what to do to help them feel loved by you.  Please note, you don't have to understand why the person feels loved through their language, you just have to do it!  It may not make sense to you why they need what they need, especially if your language is different, but the most important thing is to just do it!  If it makes them feel loved, they will feel good, and it will affect your relationship.

So do you know what your love language is?  Do you know what your partner's is?

Chapman identifies the five love languages as the following:

1. Words of Affirmation - Providing encouraging words to your partner verbally, by giving them compliments or praise, even writing a letter or  poem to express you appreciation and love for them.

2. Quality Time – Providing your undivided attention to your partner and having meaningful communication, or doing activities together that are important to your partner.

3. Receiving Gifts – Providing thoughtful and meaningful symbols of your love, this may or may not involve money.

4. Acts of Service – Providing your thoughts, efforts, time and energy to actively complete household chores or other meaningful services.

5. Physical Touch – Providing your physical presence through touch, whether hand-holding, embracing, kissing, intercourse or even gentle touches during the day.

Think about moments when you feel loved.  What language is being used to affirm you?  What do you do for your partner to make them feel loved?  If you are still not certain what your love language is, you can take a quiz to discover it by visiting The Five Love Languages website at:

Take the quiz, and have your partner take the quiz too.  Find out your languages, and use them!  It just may make all the difference in the world.


Want to succeed with your New Year's resolutions this year?  Then make your goals SMART!

2014 Beach  Be as Specific as possible in defining your goal.  Not just "be   healthy," or "eat better" but how?  What does it look like                 exactly?  

  Make it Measurable.  This will help you see when you make           progress, are you meeting  your goals?  Eating a certain number     of vegetables a day?  Doing one more push-up this week?  

  Have goals that are Attainable.  Set yourself up for success, not     failure.  What do you have the resources to accomplish?  You       know yourself best in this regard.  

  Be Realistic about what you can do.  

And finally, keep your goals Time-bound.  Give yourself deadlines for making progress, and maybe even have rewards to motivate yourself.  

In summary, break down your goals to smaller measurable steps that can be done within a limited time.  This will help you to achieve them and see your successes along the way.  Best wishes and Happy New Year!

Prioritize and pace yourself. Break down your tasks into smaller items, create a prioritized list, and spread them out so you're not doing everything at the last minute. Check off tasks when they're done so you can see your success. 

Holiday Tree

Stay physically healthy. Sleep well. Eat well. Exercise. Keeping your physical body in good shape will influence how you feel, allowing you to be relaxed, balanced and content. An anxious mind has a hard time residing in a relaxed and healthy body.

Say “no...thank you.” If things are getting too hectic, give yourself permission to decline attending that extra party or making that extra dish. Everyone will survive, I promise.

Take time to rest. How have you managed or coped with stress in the past? Keep doing what works for YOU. Whether it is meditation or yoga, relaxation exercises, hobbies, solo time, interests you enjoy, talking with others, etc.

Ask for help. No need to do it all on your own. If you need assistance, just ask!

If you want help gaining more tools to cope with stress or are still feeling anxious, contact a health practitioner and seek help. You'll be glad you did.

Wishing you all a peaceful and joyful winter season!